Oh Christmas tree, a true story


English: Christmas tree

Oh Christmas tree

Oh Christmas tree how, beautiful you were too me

You were so, so ever green

You seemed so full of life

Your green branches such  delight

On your top my angel with its lights

 

Oh, My Christmas tree

My sweet pine you see

How I did love my Christmas tree

Sad how brittle you became.

I watered you almost every night

Sometime I missed the
water tray

 

Oh Christmas tree, oh my Christmas tree

How much you meant
too me,

But as time did passed by; you became so very dry

All too soon your greenery it did fade

Soon so soon it did lay

In a pile oh so high upon my floor

A sorry shade of brown

It did cover up the rug

 

Had I but watered you

Perhaps you’d still be green

And I myself would not be sad

I thought that yes, I had?

I know I’m sure I did

Place with in an aspirin or two

 

Yet as I fondly remember you

Looking back in delight

I still love those blinking lights

They seemed to burn oh so bright

You were a good night-lite

 You stood so long in my front room

Even after you did fade

Could not did not have the heart

To take you to the trash

Oh Christmas tree my sweet pine

How brittle your branches were

I know that you were tinder dry

For watering it was a chore

So I was lazy

I let it pass

Time it slowly did go past

April May to soon July

It was just, just mid-July?

When tears of sadness filled my eyes?

 

For in a moment in one bright flash

You turned then, into too a pile of ash

Oh my Christmas tree, oh my dear sweet pine

For thee I shall ever pine

 

One moment I saw you there

Then the next thick choking smoke it filled the air

A blackened spot now upon the rug

Your ashes now I must clean

Oh how the fates are oh so mean

I have place you in a can

So I can keep you near

 

But soon now you’ll be replaced

With a new, a fresher
tree

And as I look at it

I will remember thee

Perhaps it will last a bit

Maybe longer than you did

Oh Christmas tree Oh Christmas tree

How simple it would be to water thee

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

